Business & Heritage Clarksville
Local News, Business, Arts, Heritage – DAILY Serving the Clarksville, TN region.


October 16, 2014

Voters League announces endorsements

The Clarksville-Montgomery County “League Of Voter Empowerment” (L.O.V.E.), a voters club comprised of local residents who meet monthly to discuss politics and the current state of governmental affairs, has announced its endorsements for the November 4, 2014 State & City General Election, according to President Terry McMoore.

L.O.V.E. members are all active in the community in a variety of ways; they assemble to discuss issues that affect the community and work toward solutions that might benefit the community as a whole.

We believe the following group of candidates hold true to our mission statement of “having the best interest of their constituents in mind” and will best represent the people of our nation; state, city and county in the true democracy manner in which this country was built on.

Since 2006, the Clarksville-Montgomery County “League Of Voter Empowerment” (L.O.V.E.) has only been endorsing candidates that are running for elected office. This year we have also decided to endorse or not to endorse any of the State Constitutional Amendments* or Referendums* that may appear on this year’s official ballot.

Clarksville-Montgomery County League Of Voter Empowerment mission statement reads “We will endorse and vote for the candidates that we believe best support our agenda and we will work to vote out the elected officials that we know do not have the best interest of their constituents in mind.”

L.O.V.E. endorsements include the following:

Governor: Isa Infante – Green Party

U.S. Senate: Gordon Ball – Democratic Party

U.S. House of Representatives District 7: Daniel Cramer – Democratic Party
TN House of Representatives District 67: Joe Pitts – Democratic Party
TN House of Representatives District 68: Curtis Johnson – Republican Party

TN House of Representatives District 74: John C. Tidwell – Democratic Party

Clarksville City Mayor: Jeff Burkhart

Clarksville City Council Ward 1: Richard Garrett
Clarksville City Council Ward 2: Deanna M. McLaughlin
Clarksville City Council Ward 6: Marc Harris
Clarksville City Council Ward 7: Geno Grubbs
Clarksville City Council Ward 10: Mike Alexander
Clarksville City Council Ward 11: Kaye Jones

* Wine At Retail Food Stores Referendum – NO

* Constitutional Amendment # 1 – NO

* Constitutional Amendment # 2 — YES

About the Author

News Staff



2014 Election results! McMillan Re-elected!

Early voting polling had some candidates confident of upset wins but that did not always bear out in the final tally of election balloting. Congratulations to all contestants for putting themselves and their families through th...
by News Staff


Wine sales in supermarkets approved in overwhelming vote

In a solid vote of 73%, Clarksville citizens said yes to the "wine sales in grocery stores" bill that will now take effect in 2016.
by News Staff


Clarksville Realtors Association to host Candidates Debate

The Clarksville Association of Realtors will host a Political Candidate Debate on October 16 at 10:45 a.m. The event will feature candidates running in the November 2014 City and State General Election.
by News Staff