Business & Heritage Clarksville
Local News, Business, Arts, Heritage – DAILY — Serving the Clarksville, TN region.


December 14, 2013

Omicron Delta Kappa earns Presidential Award of Excellence

APSU logo

The Austin Peay State University Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa was selected as the 2013 recipient of the ODK Presidential Award of Excellence. ODK is currently comprised of 314 chapters nationally (referred to as circles), and the APSU circle was one of only two nationally to be selected for this prestigious honor by the Omicron Delta Kappa Board of Directors. This marks the first time in the circle’s 34-year history that they have received this honor after being named both a Circle of Distinction and Superior Circle for the last seven consecutive years.

“This is a true testament to the outstanding student leaders that comprise the membership of our campus circle,” Gregory R. Singleton, APSU associate vice president/dean of students and faculty secretary for the APSU ODK Circle, said. “To be one of the top two circles in the nation brings honor to both APSU and the over 1,300 members who have been initiated into the local circle since its founding in 1979.”

The Omicron Delta Kappa Society, Inc., the national leadership honor society for college students, recognizes and encourages superior scholarship, leadership and exemplary character. Membership in ODK is a mark of highest distinction and honor.

Founded in 1914 on the campus of Washington and Lee University by 15 students and faculty leaders, ODK has a total of 313,955 members with such notable alumni as Coach Paul “Bear” Bryant, Presidents Theodore Roosevelt and George H.W. Bush, Margaret Thatcher, Sheryl Crow, Cornell West, Hillary Clinton and Peyton Manning. In addition, the national organization awards in excess of $40,000 annually in scholarships, grants and awards.

About the Author

News Staff



APSU presidential search narrows field to four finalists

Four finalists for the presidency of Austin Peay State University have been named by the search advisory committee today. President Tim Hall will be leaving the campus to assume the President's role at Mercy College in New York.
by News Staff

karen crow

Karen Crow to represent APSU in voice competition

Karen Crow, Austin Peay State University adjunct professor of voice, has been chosen to represent the Mid-South Region in the National Association of Teachers of Singing Artist Award (NATSAA) competition at the association’s ...
by News Staff


APSU’s Wadia promotes University with scholarly work

Since late December, Dr. Mickey Wadia, Austin Peay State University professor of languages and literature, has been busy enhancing APSU’s reputation through his participation in several local, national and international scho...
by News Staff



Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>